top of page

Country Star Eddie Montgomery's Debut Solo Album, 'Ain't No Closing Me Down' To Be Released 10/29

Country artist Eddie Montgomery has endured many heartaches and tragedies over these past few years, but his strength has pulled him through. His latest upcoming release if proof of that.

The title track is a rock-driven, honky-tonk offering that addresses Montgomery’s outlook for the future; “Alive and Well,” “sings about resilience in the face of adversity,” (Rolling Stone Country), and “My Son” featured on the soundtrack of a new American Western film, “Old Henry,” is a cautionary tale from a father to a son. Highlights on the new album also include “Higher,” a duet with country royalty Tanya Tucker; “She Just Loves Me,” a love song to his wife - the first love song Montgomery has ever written; and “Ain’t She Beautiful,” an incredible ballad co-written by nephew Walker Montgomery.

Montgomery Gentry’s sound is at the heart and soul of Eddie Montgomery’s album. The Wild Bunch, Montgomery Gentry’s band for the past 20 years, played on the recording sessions for the new album and provides both a tribute to his late partner, Troy Gentry, as well as a sonic bridge to carry out his legacy well into the future.

“Troy is with me and will always be with me. He helped me write this album,” remarked Eddie, who wrote on eight of the 12 tracks. “I got together with some of my best songwriting buddies and we wrote about life – the good, the bad, the ugly, and the party on the weekends."

"Ain't No Closing Me Down" tracklist:

01. “Ain’t No Closing Me Down” (Eddie Montgomery, Chris Wallin, Ira Dean)

02. “Alive And Well” (Eddie Montgomery, Chris Wallin, Ira Dean)

03. “My Son” (Eddie Montgomery, Noah Gordon)

04. “That’s The Kinda Man I Am” (Eddie Montgomery, Kim Tribble, Ira Dean)

05. “Higher” f/Tanya Tucker (Jim “Moose” Brown, David Wade, Shane Grove, Erik Michael Westfall)

06. “Play That Game” (Eddie Montgomery, Ira Dean, David Lee Murphey, Justin Weaver)

07. “Kickin’ It Up” (Eddie Montgomery, Chris Wallin, Ira Dean)

08. “She Just Loves Me” (Eddie Montgomery, Chris Wallin, Ira Dean)

09. “Sounds Like A Tuesday” (Jeffrey Steele, Wyatt Durrette, Stephen Wilson)

10. “Cry Whiskey” (Eddie Montgomery, Chris Wallin, Ira Dean)

11. “Ain’t She Beautiful” (Walker Montgomery, Chris Rafetto, Brendan Cooney)

12. “Somewhere South” (Tony Lane)

The debut solo 12-track album, will be available exclusively at Walmart on October 29 via Average Joes Entertainment. You can pre-order here:

Already set my pre-order because I know I will not regret my support for an artist who has brought us many years of hits, fun and down to earth damn good country.


bottom of page