top of page

CMA Announces The 57th Annual CMA Awards Nominees 2023 For Artists & Radio

It's already that time of year when the weather starts to cool, but the nominee announcements for the CMA Awards are heating things up. Throughout the day I have read feedback from fans as they shared BIG grins, some disappointments, some "What the heck's?" and of course the line, "Where is the country music?" I think there is something for everyone.

Lainey Wilson topping the list at nine nominations. Other top nominees include first-time nominee Jelly Roll with five nominations, while Luke Combs and HARDY collect four nominations each. Jordan Davis, Ashley McBryde, producer/mix engineer Joey Moi, songwriter/producer Jordan Schmidt, Chris Stapleton, Morgan Wallen and musician/producer Derek Wells secure three nominations apiece.

Vying for the night’s highest honor, reigning CMA Entertainer of the Year Luke Combs is nominated again in the category alongside Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood, Morgan Wallen and Lainey Wilson.

First-time CMA Awards nominees include Mason Allen, Trannie Anderson, Renee Blair, Michael H. Brauer, Katelyn Brown, Zach Bryan, Tracy Chapman, Josh Ditty, David Fanning, Nicki Fletcher, Greylan James, Jelly Roll, Paul Jenkins, Gena Johnson, Chase McGill, Cameron Montgomery, Megan Moroney, Austin Nivarel, Eivind Nordland, John Osborne, Hunter Phelps, David Ray Stevens, Patrick Tohill, Alysa Vanderheym, The War And Treaty, Hailey Whitters, Ben Williams, Dallas Wilson, and Charlie Worsham.

You cannot forget all the 2023 CMA Broadcast Awards Finalists For Broadcast Personality of The Year which many of us are very familiar with.

Weekly National

  • “American Country Countdown” (Kix Brooks) – Cumulus/Westwood One

  • “Country Countdown USA” (Lon Helton) – Compass Media Networks

  • “Honky Tonkin’ with Tracy Lawrence” (Tracy Lawrence and Patrick Thomas) – Silverfish Media

  • “On The Horizon with Buzz Brainard” (Buzz Brainard) – SiriusXM

  • “Y’all Access with Kelly Sutton” (Kelly Sutton) – Firefly Media/Silverfish Media

Daily National

  • “Angie Ward” – iHeartMedia

  • “The Big D and Bubba Show” (Derek “Big D” Haskins, Sean “Bubba” Powell, Patrick Thomas, and Carsen Humphreville) – Silverfish Media

  • “Katie & Company” (Katie Neal) - Audacy

  • “Nights with Elaina” (Elaina Smith) – Westwood One

  • “The Sam Alex Show” (Sam Alex) – Sam Alex Productions, LLC

Major Market

  • “Chris Carr & Company” (Chris Carr, Kia Becht, and Sam Sansevere) – KEEY, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.

  • “Frito & Katy” (Tucker “Frito” Young and Katy Dempsey) – KCYY, San Antonio, Texas

  • “Hawkeye in the Morning with Hawkeye and Michelle” (“Hawkeye” Mark Louis Rybczyk and Michelle Rodriguez) – KSCS, Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas

  • “Josh, Rachael & Grunwald” (Josh Holleman, Rachael Hunter, and Steve Grunwald) – WYCD, Detroit, Mich.

  • “Scotty Kay” (Scotty Kay) – WUSN, Chicago, Ill.

Large Market

  • “The Big Dave Show” (“Big Dave” Chandler, Ashley Heiert, and Jason “Stattman” Statt) – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio

  • “The Morning Drive with Mike Kellar and Jenny Matthews” (Mike Kellar and Jenny Matthews) – KBEQ, Kansas City, Mo.

  • “Scott and Shannen” (Scott Dolphin and “Shannen O” Oesterreich) – WMIL, Milwaukee-Racine, Wis.

  • “Tim & Chelsea In The Morning” (Tim Leary and Chelsea Taylor) – WIRK, West Palm Beach-Boca Raton, Fla.

  • “The Wayne D Show” (“Wayne D” Danielson and Tay Hamilton) – WSIX, Nashville, Tenn.

Medium Market

  • “Cait & Bradley Morning Show” (Cait Fisher and Matt Bradley) – KWEN, Tulsa, Okla.

  • “Clay & Company” (Clay Moden, Rob Banks, and Kadie Daye) – WYRK, Buffalo-Niagara Falls, N.Y.

  • “Ellis and Bradley Show” (Bill Ellis and Beth Bradley) – WSSL, Greenville-Spartanburg, S.C.

  • “Mo & StyckMan” (Melissa “Mo” Wagner and Greg “StyckMan” Owens) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.

  • “Steve & Gina In The Morning” (Steve Lundy and Gina Melton) – KXKT, Omaha-Council Bluffs, Neb.-Iowa

Small Market

  • “The B100 Morning Show with Brittney Baily” (Brittney Baily) – WBYT, South Bend, Ind.

  • “The Eddie Foxx Show” (Eddie Foxx and Amanda Foxx) – WKSF, Asheville, N.C.

  • “Officer Don & DeAnn” (“Officer Don” Evans and DeAnn Stephens) – WBUL, Lexington-Fayette, Ky.

  • “Steve & Tiffany in the Morning” (Steve Waters and Tiffany Kay) – WFLS, Fredericksburg, Va.

  • “Steve, Ben and Nikki” (Steve Stroud, Ben Walker, and Nikki Thomas) – WXBQ, Johnson City-Kingsport-Bristol, Tenn.-Va.

2023 CMA Broadcast Awards – Finalists For Radio Station of The Year (by market size): Major Market

  • KCYY – San Antonio, Texas

  • KEEY – Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minn.

  • KKBQ – Houston, Texas

  • KSCS – Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas

  • WXTU – Philadelphia, Pa.

Large Market

  • WIRK – West Palm Beach-Boca Raton, Fla.

  • WKDF – Nashville, Tenn.

  • WMIL – Milwaukee-Racine, Wis.

  • WUBE – Cincinnati, Ohio

  • WWKA – Orlando, Fla.

Medium Market

  • KUZZ – Bakersfield, Calif.

  • KXKT – Omaha-Council Bluffs, Neb.-Iowa

  • WGGY – Wilkes Barre-Scranton, Pa.

  • WPCV – Lakeland-Winter Haven, Fla.

  • WQMX – Akron, Ohio

Small Market

  • KCLR – Columbia, Mo.

  • WBYT – South Bend, Ind.

  • WKML – Fayetteville, N.C.

  • WXBQ – Johnson City-Kingsport-Bristol, Tenn.-Va.

  • WYCT – Pensacola, Fla.

“The 57th Annual CMA Awards,” hosted by Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning broadcasts LIVE from Nashville Wednesday, Nov. 8 (8:00 – 11:00 PM/EST) on ABC. Fpr a deeper look into the nominees list go to: Yes, I have my favorites, my what the heck's and some disappointments, but I know everyone of these artists and radio personalities work hard to entertain us and on that note I wish them all good luck and have a great time, win or lose.


bottom of page