top of page

Josh Turner Brings Early Christmas Gift October 8th

Josh Turner has that one country voice I never tire of with his deep baritone and smooth classic sound. Christmas planning seems to get earlier every season but with the release of his newest holiday cheer, 'King Size Manger,' it sure makes it easy.

Josh Turner's most treasured childhood holiday memories are of listening to Randy Travis' "An Old Time Christmas," as it was the soundtrack to the holiday season in his Hannah, SC home. When Josh set out to record his first Christmas album "King Size Manger," Travis' country Christmas collection was his guidepost. He didn't want a Frank Sinatra horn section or a 100-piece orchestra. Josh planned to create a timeless country Christmas album he could imagine his family's neighbors listening to in South Carolina.

"I just had it ingrained in my mind that you got all this other Christmas music out there in the world, but when it comes to growing up in the country and the lifestyle that comes with a country upbringing 'Randy's record, that's it, you know?'" Josh admitted. "I had just kind of tricked myself into thinking that I need to make volume two."

"King Size Manger" is a collection of traditional country versions of classic Christmas songs with some original tunes as well as some Hawaiian, bluegrass and swing sprinkled into the mix. Josh wrote three of the four original songs and arranged five tracks on the 11-song album. His rich, distinct baritone wraps around each song like a cozy blanket on a snowy morning. Holiday classics including "The First Nowell" (featuring the song’s traditional spelling) and "Silent Night, Holy Night" become even more nostalgic and the originals "King Size Manger," "What He's Given Me," "Soldier's Gift" and "Mele Kalikimaka My 'Ohana" adopt the feel of time-honored Christmas traditions.

"I allowed my heart to come out," Josh stated. "Every single one of them, I had a hand in reshaping and recreating because a lot of these songs had been done so many times. You've got Santa Claus, and you got Jesus, and most of those songs have been written," he laughed. "You're kind of up the creek on creative ideas, so I really had to dig down deep and try to find little turns of phrases and clever twists."

Christmas looks a bit different for Josh these days than it did when he was a child. He's focused on building traditions with his own family, and this year he's excited to add his album "King Size Manger" into their Christmas music mix. He created an album of instant Christmas classics for country music fans who will undoubtedly spin his collection along with the genre's most beloved holiday tracks. It will be a toe-tapping Merry Christmas, indeed.

King Size Manger Track Listing:

1. Angels We Have Heard On High

2. What He's Given Me (Featuring Pat McLaughlin)*

3. King Size Manger*

4. Joy To The World (Featuring Rhonda Vincent)

5. Soldier's Gift*

6. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Featuring The Turner Family)

7. Go Tell It On The Mountain

8. Mele Kalikimaka My 'Ohana (Featuring Jake Shimabukuro and Ho'okena)*

9. The First Nowell

10. Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town

11. Silent Night, Holy Night

Produced by Kenny Greenberg

*denotes original

So now you have the heads up on some early Christmas shopping. Make sure to add this collection to your listening pleasure as you sit around the fire or take on the fun of wrapping gifts. This will surely get you in the spirit. The new album will be released globally on CD and digital October 8, 2021 on MCA Nashville.  Pre-order here:

bottom of page